IHRA Division 3 Summit Team Finals Headed Back to Dragway 42

IHRA Division 3 Summit Team Finals Headed Back to Dragway 42

HOUSE SPRINGS, Missouri — The International Hot Rod Association Division 3 (North Stars) Summit Team Finals will be returning to Dragway 42 on Sept. 7-9.

It will be the third straight year the IHRA Division 3 Summit Team Finals will be held at the West Salem, Ohio venue. The historic facility has been around since 1957 and went a major overhaul in 2017.

Quaker City Motorsports Park is the defending IHRA Division 3 champion. Dragway 42, Kuhnle Motorsports Park and Kentucky Dragway were among the other contenders in 2022. Individual champions in the Box, No Box, Sportsman and Junior Dragster ranks were also crowned.

Ricky Roe was the Box champion with a final-round victory over Chris Weinkamer. Jeff Kerl captured the No Box victory with Joe Tharp Jr., the 2020 IHRA Sportsman World Champion, his final-round opponent.

Earl Hall ruled the Sportsman ranks with Bruce Tharp Jr. posting a runner-up finish. Logan Vitez capped off his weekend with a Junior Dragster victory as Shyanne Polan also reached the final round. 

There were also Motorcycle races, Gamblers races and a Race of Champions in addition to the main event. Kevin Twardowski won the Motorcycle race, one day after he won a Gamblers’ race. He won the Motorcycle main event when final-round opponent Tom Varney tripped the red light. 

Josh Rietscha (Box), Joe Tharp Jr. (No Box), Nolan Eckert (Sportsman) and Vitez (Junior Dragster) were among the Race of Champions winners.

The dates and locations for the IHRA Division 2,3,4 and 6 Team Finals have been announced. Stay tuned to IHRA.com and the IHRA social media channels for announcements about the information for the other team finals.