US 41 Dragstrip Set to Host IHRA Division 5 Summit Team Finals

US 41 Dragstrip Set to Host IHRA Division 5 Summit Team Finals

HOUSE SPRINGS, Missouri — Local racers haven’t been able to contain their excitement as word has gotten out about that new US 41 Dragstrip has been chosen as a site for an IHRA Division 5 (Thunder) Summit Team Finals event on Sept. 7-9.

It’s has gotten those who work and race at the Morocco, Ind., track anticipating the start of the season more than ever before.

“It’s the first time in the history of our track to host a Team Finals event,” track operator Steve Keys explained. “It’s a big deal for us and the local racers. We’ve been around since ’93 and it opened as a premier IHRA track. To have the opportunity to host a Team Finals, it’s adding excitement to our local bracket program.”

Mid-Michigan Motorplex won the 2022 IHRA Division 5 team title. Muncie Dragway, US 41 Dragstrip and Bunker Hill Drag Strip were amongst the top finishing teams. Individual champions were also crowned as well as special awards handed out.

Michael Churley from Lake Village, Ind., was the Top (Box) champion with a win over Bill Thompson in the final round. Rich Vanells from Lowell, Mich., captured the Mod (No Box) title over Chris Mesbergen.

Aaron Richards from Schereville, Ind., won on a holeshot in the Sportsman final against Derek Simon. Braden Peters from Howell, Mich., won the the Junior Dragster final despite his opponent Ethan Russell being better at the start.

Keep checking out and our social media channels as the rest of the dates and locations of the IHRA Summit Team Finals are revealed.